YVR’s irrational Olympic shuttle “legacy”

Some years ago, my father coined the word “aggrannoyance” to describe situations which are both annoying and aggravating. This post is about an aggrannoyance I experienced at Vancouver International Airport during the course of a recent trip to Toronto (and back). The following is a message I sent via the YVR Contact Us page, and I would urge readers to spread the word and let YVR know that their policy is unacceptable and must be reversed.

I’ve been flying out of and into YVR for a number of years (approximately twice a year). For various reasons, I find it convenient to use Park ‘n Fly. Consequently I was somewhat taken aback, on March 27, when the Park ‘n Fly shuttle dropped me off outside the International Terminal rather than the Domestic Terminal from which my flight would originate – requiring a long walk for me.

On my return (March 31), I was forced to make an equally long walk in order to be picked up by the shuttle to return to my vehicle.

Much to my surprise, the shuttle driver informed me that this is not a temporary measure, but rather it is the result of an arbitrary decision by the powers that be at YVR.

Evidently – notwithstanding complaints from shuttle operators – YVR has decided to bestow this completely unnecessary inconvenience and hardship on domestic flying passengers as an Olympic “legacy”.

I’m not aware of any public consultation process undertaken by YVR prior to implementing this highly inconvenient, irrational and unfair practice.

Perhaps those who made this decision are oblivious to the fact that some passengers have mobility limitations which preclude their being able to successfully navigate the winding path to and from the Domestic Terminal in a timely manner.

In this regard, the driver of my return shuttle advised me that when he had the common sense and courtesy to ignore this irrational policy in order to facilitate a more convenient drop-off for a mobility-challenged passenger, he was issued a ridiculous fine ($150.00).

Please be advised that I am posting this message on my blog (https://hro001.wordpress.com) and I shall also post what (I hope will be) your prompt reply indicating when this ludicrous policy will be reversed, and this practice of discriminating against domestic passengers ended.

Thank you.

UPDATE April 9, 2010: No response from YVR, yet; however, Park’N Fly have investigated the incident related to me by the driver. It turns out that the driver had “embellished the issue” – and that no one had been fined. This does not, however, negate the discrimination against domestic passengers inherent in the policy – about which other Park’N Flyer customers have also complained to YVR. But there is good news on the way! Please see my next post.

4 thoughts on “YVR’s irrational Olympic shuttle “legacy”

  1. Thanks for the update, alisa. And thanks for releasing my April 5 post from “moderation”. Considering that the closing ceremony for the Paralympics took place on March 21 – and that Park’N Fly had confirmed that they and other shuttle operators had been advised that the post-Olympic continuation was not “temporary” – I have some difficulty understanding why:

    a) No one from YVR has responded to my initial submission via the Contact Us page; and

    b) Why it is taking from March 22 to April 12 to restore “normal” service to the Domestic Terminal

    Nonetheless all’s well that ends well, I suppose.

    P.S. Readers who would like to see “their” full reply and are wondering where on the blog it might be found should point their mouse to http://yvrconnections.com/2010/03/we%e2%80%99re-1/

Leave a Reply

